top of page

YCT HSK Vocabulary Requirement 



Youth Chinese Test
Youth Chinese Test (YCT),an international standardized test of Chinese language proficiency, assesses the primary and middle school students' abilities to use Chinese as second language in their daily and academic lives. YCT is divided into writing and speaking tests, which are independent to each other. The writing testconsistsof four levels, namely, YCT (level I), YCT (level II), YCT (level III), and YCT (level IV). The speaking testconsists oftwo levels, YCT Speaking (Primary Level) and YCT Speaking (Intermediate Level).

The YCT test is intended for young students up to age 15.

YCT Level I


The YCT (Level I) assesses test takers’ ability in daily use of Chinese. Test takers who are able to pass the YCT (Level I) can understand and use some of the most common Chinese phrases and sentences and possess the ability to further their Chinese language studies.
I. Test Target
The YCT (Level I) is intended for young students who have studied Chinese for three months, with 2-3 class hours per week. These students have mastered 80 commonly used words and related grammar patterns.

II. Test Content
The YCT (Level I) test is made up of listening comprehension and reading comprehension sections and contains a total of 35 items.

Sample test papers and references for new YCT1

00:00 / 10:46

YCT1 Vocabulary





bottom of page